Research Program Directors Overview

ICRISAT’s Research Directors comprise a team of exceptional scientists who play a pivotal role in shaping the Institute's scientific endeavors and driving innovation in the drylands.

With their strong scientific and academic backgrounds, they bring a wealth of expertise and knowledge to their respective domains. Each research director represents a diverse range of disciplines, including agronomy, genetics, plant breeding, economics, and social sciences, among others. This diversity not only enriches the research landscape but also fosters interdisciplinary collaboration and holistic approaches to addressing the multifaceted challenges of the drylands.

United by a shared vision, these visionary leaders are committed to advancing cutting-edge research, developing resilient and sustainable agricultural practices, and improving the livelihoods of smallholder farmers in the dryland regions. Their dedication and expertise inspire the entire ICRISAT community to strive for excellence and make a lasting impact on the lives of millions living in these arid and semi-arid regions.

Research Leadership Team

Dr Rebbie Harawa

Global Research Program Director - Africa & Country Representative - Kenya

Dr Victor Afari-Sefa

Global Research Program Director - Enabling Systems Transformation - Ghana

Dr Mangi Lal Jat

Global Research Program Director - Resilient Farm and Food Systems - India

Dr Sean Mayes

Global Research Program Director - Accelerated Crop Improvement - United Kingdom