Message from the Governing Chair

As Chair of the ICRISAT Governing Board, I am honored to work alongside a distinguished group of individuals who bring their expertise and diverse perspectives to direct the institute's policies, governance, and research strategies. The Governing Board, as the ultimate authority in setting the strategic direction for ICRISAT, ensures that our collective efforts align with our mission and vision.

With a commitment to excellence in agricultural research for development, the Governing Board assumes a paramount role in steering the institute’s activities by working closely with management and staff, ensuring effective resource allocation, risk management, and the establishment of robust governance mechanisms.

Collectively, we leverage global trends, emerging technologies, and insights from our partners and stakeholders through our strategic decision-making processes. By remaining at the vanguard of the evolving needs and priorities within the dryland agricultural sector, we ensure that ICRISAT maintains its agility, responsiveness, and relentless pursuit of scientific innovation to deliver impactful solutions.

At ICRISAT, we also believe in the intrinsic value of inclusive and transparent governance as a fundamental pillar for fulfilling our mission. Our Governing Board members, with their extensive experiences spanning diverse sectors and regions, bring forth a wealth of perspectives, expertise, and unwavering dedication to this cause.

As we continue to chart the course forward for the world’s premier dryland institute, we remain united in our commitment to catalyzing agricultural transformations, improving food security, and enhancing the livelihoods of smallholder farmers.

I invite you to explore our website to learn more about the transformative impacts of our work.

Professor Prabhu Pingali
Chair of the ICRISAT Governing Board

Current Governing Board

Prof Prabhu Pingali

Chair, ICRISAT Governing Board - USA

Dr Himanshu Pathak

Vice Chair, Secretary (DARE) & Director General (ICAR), India (Ex officio member) - India

Dr Jacqueline d’Arros Hughes

Director General, Ex officio member - ICRISAT Governing Board - United Kingdom

Manoj Ahuja

Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, India (Ex officio member) - India

A Santhi Kumari

Chief Secretary of the State of Telangana, India (Ex officio member) - India

Dr Yilma Kebede

Chair, Program Committee - Ethiopia

Prof Lindiwe Sibanda

Chair, CGIAR System Board - Zimbabwe

Dr Patrick Caron

Vice Chair, CGIAR System Board - France

Alice Ruhweza

Member, CGIAR System Board - Uganda

Prof Shenggen Fan

Member, CGIAR System Board - China

Folasade Ogunde

Chair, Audit and Risk Committee - Nigeria

Cathy Reade

Chair, Corporate Governance Committee - Australia

Bonnie McClafferty

Member, Audit and Risk Committee - USA

Dr Regine Andersen

Member, Corporate Governance Committee - Norway

Prof Yaye Kene Gassama

Member, Audit and Risk Committee - Senegal

Board Secretary

Renerose Tan Ng

Governing Board Secretary, and Advisor, Governance and Compliance - Philippines